submittedAmazon Data Services application for New Source Minor PSD/EO Construction Approval and FESOP
Publisher / issuer: Amazon Data Services / RambollClassification: Air-permit applicationPublished / issued: July 2026
The complete 190-page application Amazon submitted to IDEM for review and approval. This is not an issued IDEM permit.
Used to verify: Generator inventory, Fuel storage, Potential emissions, Requested limits, Federal and Indiana rules
pendingIDEM CAATS permit status — Amazon Data Services, Permit 089-50590-00739
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Department of Environmental ManagementClassification: Official government permit-status recordPublished / issued: July 24, 2026
IDEM’s Air Quality Permit Status Search lists Amazon Data Services Incorporated at 4751 E. 61st Avenue under Permit 089-50590-00739. The record lists “Application Received” on July 24 and the current status as “Initial Processing.” It does not show a draft, final or issued permit.
Used to verify: IDEM permit number, Applicant and source address, July 24 application-received milestone, Initial Processing status, No draft or issued permit shown
Access and copyright: Public agency database; Northshore summarizes the public status fields and does not reproduce a restricted work product.
Controlling-record relationship: This is the controlling public record for the listed IDEM processing status. Amazon’s application controls what was requested; a future IDEM draft, final permit or denial would control agency conditions and the outcome.
Related records: Amazon Data Services application for New Source Minor PSD/EO Construction Approval and FESOP; IDEM public notices — Northwest Indiana
finalHobart Municipal Code Chapter 155 — reimbursement of professional fees and costs
Publisher / issuer: City of HobartClassification: Municipal codePublished / issued: Adopted 2010; amended 2018
Requires covered developers to execute a project-specific reimbursement agreement and deposit funds for actual professional, advertising and recording costs associated with City review of land-use and financing-incentive applications. The agreement controls the reimbursable amount. Its litigation language concerns enforcement of the reimbursement agreement and does not, by itself, prove payment of every third-party lawsuit-defense invoice.
Used to verify: Developer reimbursement framework, Attorney and engineering review costs, Deposit and payment requirements, Limits of litigation language
finalCity of Hobart Fee Schedule 2026
Publisher / issuer: City of HobartClassification: Official fee schedulePublished / issued: Revised May 15, 2026
Lists major site-plan review with a reimbursement agreement as $150 plus the costs stated in that agreement. It also applies reimbursement-agreement costs to annexations and requested code or comprehensive-plan amendments.
Used to verify: Current reimbursement-agreement fees, Major site-plan review, Annexation and plan-amendment costs
finalHobart Redevelopment Commission minutes — November 17, 2025
Publisher / issuer: City of HobartClassification: Official meeting minutesPublished / issued: November 17, 2025
Records the Commission holding certain engineering and legal claims so costs could be applied to existing developer reimbursement agreements. These examples concern other developments, so they establish City practice rather than Amazon-specific payment.
Used to verify: Reimbursement agreements used in City practice, Professional claims held for developer payment, Non-Amazon comparison
historicalMayor Huddlestun — projected Hobart data-center payments
Publisher / issuer: Mayor Josh HuddlestunClassification: Public official statementPublished / issued: February 2026
The mayor attributes $102 million in projected 2026 payments to the project, followed by $43 million in 2027, $40 million in 2028 and approximately $50 million annually after full buildout. These are attributed projections, not proof that all future payments have been received.
Used to verify: Mayor’s revenue projection, Projected payment schedule, Public-official attribution
finalNorthwest Indiana Business Magazine — data-center revenue discussion
Publisher / issuer: Northwest Indiana Business MagazineClassification: News and business reportingPublished / issued: June–July 2026
Reports Mayor Huddlestun’s projection that Hobart could receive approximately $1.5 billion in additional revenue over 35 years. The figure is a long-term projection attributed to the mayor, not a realized net-return calculation.
Used to verify: $1.5 billion attributed projection, 35-year time horizon, Projection-versus-realized distinction
finalIndiana public-records request guidance
Publisher / issuer: State of IndianaClassification: Official public-records guidancePublished / issued: Accessed July 26, 2026
Explains that Indiana state and local public records are requested under the Access to Public Records Act, while the federal Freedom of Information Act applies to federal-agency records. Requests generally must identify existing records with reasonable particularity.
Used to verify: APRA terminology, Difference between APRA and federal FOIA, Record-specific request guidance
finalIURC Final Order, Cause No. 46322
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Utility Regulatory CommissionClassification: Final government regulatory orderPublished / issued: June 17, 2026
Controlling primary source for what the Commission approved: the NIPSCO-Amazon customer contract and related GenCo power-purchase arrangements, with service expected to begin in 2027 and ramp through 2032. At Amazon’s projected full load ramp, the order estimates residential bill credits of about $7 per month, or $82 per year.
Used to verify: Power plan, Service schedule, Customer protections, Projected residential bill credits
submittedIURC Cause 46322 compliance filing — Notice of Submission of Highly Confidential Information
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Utility Regulatory CommissionClassification: Official utility docket entryPublished / issued: July 16, 2026
The Cause 46322 docket lists a July 16 compliance filing titled “Notice of Submission of Highly Confidential Information,” with Northern Indiana Public Service Co. — Electric and NIPSCO Generation LLC listed as the utility. The public entry establishes the filing date and title; it does not disclose the confidential material or create a new approval.
Used to verify: July 16 compliance-filing date, Public filing title, Listed utility parties, Post-order docket activity
Access and copyright: Public docket metadata is summarized. Northshore did not access, reproduce or infer the highly confidential submission.
Controlling-record relationship: The June 17 final order remains the controlling record for what the Commission approved. This later filing controls only the fact of the listed compliance activity.
Related records: IURC Final Order, Cause No. 46322
submittedIURC weekly filings list — Cause 46322 compliance filing and tariff sheets
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Utility Regulatory CommissionClassification: Official utility docket filing indexPublished / issued: August 24–28, 2026 weekly list; filing dated August 25, 2026
The Commission’s official weekly filings list includes an August 25 Cause 46322 entry from NIPSCO Electric titled “Compliance Filing - Tariff Sheets.” The public list establishes that docket activity was filed; it does not disclose confidential material, establish a new approval or by itself determine final rates or charges.
Used to verify: August 25 Cause 46322 filing date, Public filing title, NIPSCO Electric docket activity, Post-order compliance activity
Access and copyright: Official public weekly filing index. Northshore summarizes the listed metadata and did not access or infer any confidential filing content.
Controlling-record relationship: The June 17 final order remains the controlling record for what the Commission approved. This weekly list controls only the fact and public title of the later filing.
Related records: IURC Final Order, Cause No. 46322; IURC Cause 46322 compliance filing — Notice of Submission of Highly Confidential Information
finalHobart commission approves data center fill permit 5-3 over community objections
Publisher / issuer: Chicago Tribune / Post-TribuneClassification: Secondary news reportingPublished / issued: February 6, 2026
Northshore’s summary of the published report: the Hobart Plan Commission approved the 605-acre fill-permit request 5–3, with conditions limiting the approval to dirt movement and making it expire when a site plan is approved. The report also attributes the reported first $47 million payment to City officials. This is secondary reporting, not the controlling government record, and the original article may require a subscription.
Used to verify: Fill-permit vote and conditions, Reported first $47 million payment, Secondary procedural context
finalNWI Times report — Hobart Plan Commission site-plan approvals
Publisher / issuer: NWI TimesClassification: Secondary news reportingPublished / issued: May 8, 2026
Northshore’s summary of the published report: the Hobart Plan Commission approved the two data-center site plans by an 8–0 vote after the May 7 hearing. The City agenda and official meeting video confirm the hearing and applications; signed minutes remain the controlling municipal record for the final vote.
Used to verify: Reported 8–0 site-plan vote, May 7 hearing context, Secondary procedural reporting
Access and copyright: Copyright remains with the publisher. Northshore provides an original summary and a protected curated link; it does not reproduce the article.
Controlling-record relationship: The signed City meeting record controls the Commission’s official action. This report supplies attributed context and does not replace the municipal record.
Related records: Hobart Plan Commission agenda and official meeting video — May 7, 2026
finalNiSource Form 10-Q — amendments to the Amazon Data Services contract
Publisher / issuer: NiSource / U.S. Securities and Exchange CommissionClassification: Company SEC filingPublished / issued: Filed May 6, 2026
NiSource’s filing says March and May 2026 amendments, then pending regulatory approval, would increase Amazon Data Services’ committed capacity beginning in 2029 and to 2,800 MW by the end of 2032. It also describes fixed and existing-system charges designed to pass savings to existing customers. The filing is a company disclosure, not the controlling IURC order.
Used to verify: Company-disclosed 2,800 MW amended commitment, March and May 2026 amendments, Company-described customer-savings charge structure
Access and copyright: SEC filing. Northshore provides an original summary and a protected curated link; it does not reproduce or replace the filing.
Controlling-record relationship: The IURC orders control what the Commission approved. This company filing describes amendments that were pending regulatory approval and must not replace the controlling regulatory record.
Related records: IURC Final Order, Cause No. 46322; NiSource announces strategic energy infrastructure agreements to enhance customer value and economic growth in Indiana
finalNiSource announces strategic energy infrastructure agreements to enhance customer value and economic growth in Indiana
Publisher / issuer: NIPSCO / NiSourceClassification: Company announcement and regional contextPublished / issued: April 16, 2026
NIPSCO/NiSource announced a new long-term energy agreement with a subsidiary of Alphabet for a large-scale northern Indiana data center and described related GenCo customer benefits. This is a company announcement in regional utility context; it is not evidence specifically proving facts about Amazon’s proposed campus.
Used to verify: Alphabet-related data-center agreement, Regional utility context, Company-stated customer benefits
finalRegulatory Approvals Underscore Strength of NiSource’s Customer-Focused Data Center Strategy Supporting Growth in Indiana
Publisher / issuer: NiSourceClassification: Corporate / investor-relations statementPublished / issued: June 23, 2026
NiSource said the June 17 IURC approvals support a broader Indiana data-center strategy and described expected customer savings. These are statements made by NiSource; the press release is not itself an official regulatory order. Compare its claims with the controlling IURC Cause No. 46322 and Cause No. 46362 orders.
Used to verify: NiSource’s post-approval statement, Broader Indiana strategy estimate, Context for IURC Cause Nos. 46322 and 46362
Related records: IURC Final Order, Cause No. 46322; IURC Final Order, Cause No. 46362
finalIEDC Data Center Sales Tax Exemption
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Economic Development CorporationClassification: State incentive-program guidancePublished / issued: Accessed July 28, 2026
Describes Indiana’s separate state data-center gross retail and use tax exemption. It states that qualifying investments under $750 million may receive up to 25 years, while investments over $750 million may receive up to 50 years. The page also notes local governments may separately provide an enterprise IT equipment exemption.
Used to verify: State versus local incentive distinction, State data-center sales and use tax exemption, Local enterprise IT exemption context
finalIURC Final Order, Cause No. 46362
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Utility Regulatory CommissionClassification: Final generation orderPublished / issued: June 17, 2026
Addresses GenCo’s 2,600 MW combined-cycle gas resources and 400 MW battery-storage resource for expected megaload service.
Used to verify: GenCo construction, Generation capacity, Battery storage
finalIURC Final Order, Cause No. 46120 — NIPSCO electric base rates
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Utility Regulatory CommissionClassification: Final utility rate orderPublished / issued: June 26, 2025
Approves NIPSCO’s multi-step electric base-rate settlement. The order predates the June 2026 Hobart Amazon and GenCo approvals and ties its implementation steps to 2025 plant balances and approved rate adjustments.
Used to verify: Current base-rate timeline, Cause 46120 rate steps, Distinction from Hobart GenCo approvals
finalIURC Final Order, Cause No. 45947 — Schahfer peaking resource
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Utility Regulatory CommissionClassification: Final generation orderPublished / issued: October 16, 2024
Approves a separate NIPSCO public-system peaking-generation project at the Schahfer site, with approved cost recovery. It is not the Hobart Amazon GenCo resource portfolio.
Used to verify: Separate Schahfer project, Public-system cost recovery, Distinction from Hobart GenCo
finalNIPSCO electric rates and adjustment overview
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Office of Utility Consumer CounselorClassification: Consumer rate guidancePublished / issued: Current; accessed July 26, 2026
Explains that NIPSCO’s base rates were approved in June 2025 and that separate trackers are reviewed and approved on quarterly, semiannual or annual schedules. A bill change can therefore have more than one cause.
Used to verify: Base-rate timing, Tracker context, How to evaluate a bill change
historicalResident summary of a Hobart Fire Department meeting — unverified commentary
Publisher / issuer: Resident volunteer group (author and meeting details not independently verified)Classification: Undated resident meeting summary — unverified commentaryPublished / issued: Undated; supplied to Northshore July 30, 2026
This three-page resident-prepared summary describes what its author says was discussed with the Hobart Fire Department about the proposed data center. Northshore Gen did not independently verify or conclude that the statements in this resident summary are factual. No recording, signed minutes, Fire Department review letter or underlying fire-protection plans were supplied with it. The summary can identify topics residents say they raised and questions they say remained open, but it does not verify attributed statements, project design details, Fire Department determinations or emergency-response procedures.
Used to verify: Resident account of meeting topics, Questions the resident summary says remained open, Need for controlling Fire Department or project records
Access and copyright: Northshore holds the supplied screenshots as a controlled source. They are available through Research Pass only and are labeled as unverified resident commentary.
Controlling-record relationship: Signed Hobart Fire Department records, adopted code requirements, approved plans and issued permits control what was reviewed, required or approved. This resident summary does not replace any of those records.
Related records: Amazon Data Services application for New Source Minor PSD/EO Construction Approval and FESOP
submittedHobart Data Center Campus site-plan review application — PC 25-36
Publisher / issuer: Hobart Devco LLC, filed with City of Hobart Plan CommissionClassification: Submitted site-plan application later treated as first fill permitPublished / issued: October 7, 2025
This four-page application seeks City site-plan review for the approximately 168-acre Hobart Data Center Campus at 4751 East 61st Avenue. It describes proposed data-center pads, temporary drainage and construction-access work. Later court filings and orders refer to the Plan Commission's treatment of this application as the first fill permit. The application documents a request and project representations; it is not an issued permit, final approval or proof that work was completed.
Used to verify: PC 25-36 application, October 7, 2025 filing, Original 168-acre project area, Requested site-plan and grading-related work
Access and copyright: Northshore holds the supplied application as a controlled source. The complete record is not exposed publicly and is reviewed through Research Pass access.
Controlling-record relationship: This application controls what was submitted on October 7, 2025. Any City action, issued permit or court order controls the legal effect of the submission.
Related records: Hobart Ordinance 2025-07 and rezoning packet — Petition 25-02; Hobart Data Center Campus mass-grading plans — 4751 E. 61st Avenue; Memorandum supporting requested preliminary injunction — first fill permit; Order on Petition for Preliminary Injunction — first fill permit
submittedHobart Data Center Campus mass-grading plans — 4751 E. 61st Avenue
Publisher / issuer: Hobart Devco / Kimley-HornClassification: Civil engineering plan setPublished / issued: October 2025
A complete 39-page, web-optimized copy of the submitted civil plan set for the SBN520 parcel showing proposed mass grading, six future building pads, approximately 115 acres of disturbance, stormwater controls and mapped wetland/floodplain boundaries. Page content is preserved while image resolution is reduced for public web viewing. It is not an air permit, a final building approval or proof that the work is complete.
Used to verify: SBN520 site layout, Grading boundary, Stormwater controls, Wetland buffers
submittedHobart Tech Park grading application for site-plan review — PC 26-01
Publisher / issuer: Tuhaus LLC / Langan Engineering & Environmental Services, filed with City of Hobart Planning DepartmentClassification: Submitted local fill-permit applicationPublished / issued: November 18, 2025
This four-page application requests grading site-plan review for the 605-acre Tech Park area near West 61st Avenue and Colorado Street. It describes mass grading and construction-stormwater-pollution-prevention-plan installation, temporary sediment basins and two construction-access locations. It documents what the applicant requested; it is not an issued permit, an approval record or proof that work was completed.
Used to verify: PC 26-01 application, 605-acre grading scope, Requested mass-grading and SWPPP work, Temporary sediment-basin plan, Proposed construction access
Access and copyright: Northshore holds the supplied application as a controlled source. The complete record is not exposed publicly and is reviewed through Research Pass access.
Controlling-record relationship: This application controls what was requested on November 18, 2025. A later City action, issued permit or other official record controls whether and on what terms the request was approved.
Related records: Hobart Data Center Campus mass-grading plans — 4751 E. 61st Avenue; Hobart commission approves data center fill permit 5-3 over community objections
submittedHobart Tech Park mass-grading package — PC 26-01 supporting plans
Publisher / issuer: Tuhaus LLC / Langan Engineering & Environmental ServicesClassification: Submitted civil engineering and stormwater plan setPublished / issued: December 9, 2025
This supplied 217-page plan package supports the separate Hobart Tech Park grading application, PC 26-01. Its cover identifies 6197 Colorado Street and describes a roughly 554.81-acre site with about 399.48 acres of planned disturbance. The sheet index includes existing-condition, grading-and-drainage, construction, SWPPP, and phased erosion-and-sediment-control plans. It documents the submitted technical proposal; it is not an issued permit, a City approval or proof that the proposed work was completed.
Used to verify: PC 26-01 supporting plan set, 6197 Colorado Street project area, 554.81-acre site representation, 399.48-acre planned disturbance, Grading, drainage, SWPPP and erosion-control proposal
Access and copyright: Northshore has registered the supplied plan package, but controlled full-document intake is pending. The complete record is not publicly hosted or directly linked.
Controlling-record relationship: This plan set controls the technical proposal submitted with the record. A City action, issued permit or other official record controls whether and on what terms the proposal was approved.
Related records: Hobart Tech Park grading application for site-plan review — PC 26-01
finalHobart Data Center Campus construction/SWPPP technical review
Publisher / issuer: City of Hobart MS4 / Wessler EngineeringClassification: Stormwater technical reviewPublished / issued: October 21, 2025
A five-page technical review of the 117.1-acre mass-grading plan. The reviewer marked the third submittal adequate for minimum City stormwater and IDEM construction-stormwater requirements and directed the applicant to submit a Notice of Intent. The form expressly excludes review of other required permits.
Used to verify: Stormwater plan review, 117.1-acre review scope, Notice of Intent requirement, Review limitations
finalHobart Ordinance 2024-33 — data-center regulation
Publisher / issuer: City of Hobart Common CouncilClassification: Adopted municipal ordinancePublished / issued: November 20, 2024
The signed 14-page ordinance amended Hobart's zoning code to define and regulate data-center development. It establishes the citywide regulatory framework adopted before the project-specific rezoning and later 2025 data-center zoning/noise amendment. It is the governing ordinance text, not a project permit or a finding that any later proposal satisfied every requirement.
Used to verify: Initial data-center zoning framework, Municipal code amendments, Pre-project regulatory context
Access and copyright: Northshore holds the supplied signed ordinance as a controlled source. The complete record is not exposed publicly and is reviewed through Research Pass access.
Controlling-record relationship: This adopted ordinance controls the text it enacted, subject to later amendments and the currently effective municipal code.
Related records: Hobart Ordinance 2025-07 and rezoning packet — Petition 25-02; Hobart Ordinance 2025-22 — data-center zoning and noise
finalHobart Ordinance 2025-07 and rezoning packet — Petition 25-02
Publisher / issuer: City of Hobart Common Council / Plan CommissionClassification: Adopted rezoning ordinance and official supporting packetPublished / issued: January 2025
The 18-page City packet contains Ordinance 2025-07 (marked as amended), the Plan Commission certification and supporting meeting materials for Petition 25-02. The record concerns the original approximately 168-acre property near East 61st Avenue and Arizona Street, changing it from R-3 residential to M-1 Light Manufacturing with a stated reversion condition if the named data-center development did not proceed. The packet records City action and project representations at that time; it is not a later site-plan approval or proof that all representations were achieved.
Used to verify: Original 168-acre rezoning record, Petition 25-02, R-3-to-M-1 zoning change, Plan Commission recommendation, Contemporaneous project representations
Access and copyright: Northshore holds the supplied City packet as a controlled source. The complete record is not exposed publicly and is reviewed through Research Pass access.
Controlling-record relationship: The adopted ordinance controls the rezoning action. The packet's hearing materials and proposed findings document the record considered at the time but do not replace later City, court or permit records.
Related records: Hobart Ordinance 2024-33 — data-center regulation; Filed complaint — Soriano et al. v. City of Hobart Plan Commission et al.; Hobart Data Center Campus mass-grading plans — 4751 E. 61st Avenue
historicalHobart Data Center Layout Exhibit — conceptual plan
Publisher / issuer: Hobart Devco / project design teamClassification: Conceptual project layout exhibitPublished / issued: December 10, 2024
This one-page conceptual layout labels itself ‘Review Status Only’ and depicts a roughly 167.77-acre campus with six two-level data-center buildings, equipment yards, a detention pond, two access points and proposed utility facilities. Its notes say the layout is conceptual and subject to utility, floodplain and wetland verification. It records an early project representation, not an approved site plan, permit or final construction design.
Used to verify: December 2024 conceptual site layout, Six-building campus representation, Conceptual detention and access layout, Plan limitations stated on the exhibit
Access and copyright: Northshore holds the supplied exhibit as a controlled source. The complete record is not exposed publicly and is reviewed through Research Pass access.
Controlling-record relationship: The exhibit controls only its December 2024 conceptual representation. Later adopted ordinances, permits and approved plans control later project actions.
Related records: Hobart Ordinance 2025-07 and rezoning packet — Petition 25-02; Hobart Data Center Campus mass-grading plans — 4751 E. 61st Avenue
finalHobart Ordinance 2025-22 — data-center zoning and noise
Publisher / issuer: City of HobartClassification: Adopted municipal ordinancePublished / issued: July 2, 2025
The adopted ordinance addresses data centers in M-1 Light Manufacturing zoning and sets a 65-decibel property-line maximum for data-center noise, except during emergencies caused by power outages. It also retains octave-band and nuisance provisions.
Used to verify: M-1 zoning context, 65-decibel property-line standard, Power-outage exception, Octave-band limits
finalHobart Ordinance 2025-37 — municipal right-of-way vacation
Publisher / issuer: City of Hobart Common CouncilClassification: Adopted municipal ordinancePublished / issued: October 15, 2025
The signed ordinance vacated a described municipal right-of-way approximately 1,545 feet by 80 feet, totaling about 2.84 acres. The supplied packet includes the petition and supporting materials. This is a discrete municipal right-of-way action; it is not a complete approval of the data-center project or a resolution of later permit and court disputes.
Used to verify: Ordinance 2025-37 adoption, Right-of-way vacation, Described 2.84-acre area, October 2025 municipal action
Access and copyright: Northshore holds the supplied signed ordinance packet as a controlled source. The complete record is not exposed publicly and is reviewed through Research Pass access.
Controlling-record relationship: This adopted ordinance controls the specified right-of-way action. It does not decide separate zoning, permit or court matters.
Related records: Hobart Ordinance 2025-07 and rezoning packet — Petition 25-02; Filed complaint — Soriano et al. v. City of Hobart Plan Commission et al.
supersededHobart Resolution 2025-05 — declaratory Economic Revitalization Area designation
Publisher / issuer: City of Hobart Common CouncilClassification: Declaratory municipal resolutionPublished / issued: December 3, 2025
This resolution declared a proposed Economic Revitalization Area and initiated the statutory notice-and-hearing process for the described property. The later final designation is recorded in Resolution 2026-01. This earlier declaratory step documents the beginning of that process; it is not the final ERA action.
Used to verify: December 2025 declaratory ERA action, Statutory notice-and-hearing process, Relationship to final Resolution 2026-01
Access and copyright: Northshore holds the supplied resolution as a controlled source. The complete record is not exposed publicly and is reviewed through Research Pass access.
Controlling-record relationship: This resolution controls the City’s initial declaratory ERA action. Resolution 2026-01 controls the subsequent final designation.
Related records: Hobart Resolution 2026-01 — Economic Revitalization Area designation; Filed complaint — Soriano et al. v. Hobart Common Council et al.
finalHobart Resolution 2026-01 — Economic Revitalization Area designation
Publisher / issuer: City of HobartClassification: Adopted municipal resolutionPublished / issued: January 7, 2026
Declares and confirms the approximately 723-acre project area as an Economic Revitalization Area. A February 18, 2026 final trial-court order later confirmed the ERA designation and the real-property abatements challenged by residents.
Used to verify: Economic Revitalization Area, Tax-abatement case record, City action challenged
finalHobart Resolution 2026-02 — Hobart Tech Park tax-abatement agreement
Publisher / issuer: City of HobartClassification: Approved economic-development agreementPublished / issued: January 7, 2026
Approves a 10-year, 100% real-property abatement for each eligible building. The project-wide Statement of Benefits estimates more than 400 permanent Amazon positions at $37.44 per hour. The agreement requires annual compliance reporting and provides a process for denying the abatement after a demonstrated material failure to substantially comply.
Used to verify: Real-property abatement, Job and wage estimates, Annual compliance review, Community impact payments
finalHobart Resolution 2026-03 — Hobart Owner real-property tax abatement
Publisher / issuer: City of HobartClassification: Approved economic-development agreementPublished / issued: January 7, 2026
Approves the real-property tax-abatement agreement associated with Hobart Owner LLC. A February 18, 2026 final trial-court order confirmed the City’s ERA designation and real-property abatement actions.
Used to verify: Hobart Owner abatement, Tax-abatement case record, City action challenged
finalHobart Resolution 2026-04 — enterprise IT exemption and community enhancement agreement
Publisher / issuer: City of HobartClassification: Approved economic-development agreementPublished / issued: January 7, 2026
Approves a 35-year, 100% exemption for qualified enterprise IT equipment in each eligible building and a community enhancement agreement scheduling $175 million in contributions. It also records per-building impact payments and project commitments covering acoustics, roadway work, fire training, construction mitigation and responsible bidding.
Used to verify: Enterprise IT exemption, $175 million contribution schedule, Per-building impact payments, Additional project commitments
historicalNo Data Centers Hobart advocacy website — reviewed snapshot
Publisher / issuer: No Data Centers Hobart IndianaClassification: Advocacy websitePublished / issued: Accessed July 26, 2026
The public advocacy site supplied the statements evaluated in the Claim Checker and links to several useful municipal records. Its homepage metadata says it was last modified May 11, 2026, before Amazon’s July 2026 air application, so several project estimates are stale.
Used to verify: Claims selected for review, Advocacy context, Links to City records
submittedIndiana DHS Project 462383 activity — Form COR filing
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Department of Homeland SecurityClassification: Official state building-plan activity recordPublished / issued: July 20, 2026
Indiana DHS Project Activity lists a Form COR filed July 20 for Project 462383, “Hobart Tech Park - ACB,” at 6197 Colorado Street. The activity report does not describe the form’s substantive contents. This state filing is not a local building permit or certificate of occupancy.
Used to verify: Project number and title, 6197 Colorado Street location, Form COR filing, July 20 filing date, State-versus-local approval boundary
Access and copyright: Public state project-activity report; Northshore summarizes the listed metadata and does not host a complete underlying filing.
Controlling-record relationship: This record controls the listed state filing activity only. The underlying DHS filing or release controls its terms, while City records control local building permits and occupancy approval.
approvedIndiana DHS Project 462383 activity — Standard design release
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Department of Homeland SecurityClassification: Official state building-plan activity recordPublished / issued: July 21, 2026
Indiana DHS Project Activity lists a Standard design release dated July 21 for Project 462383, “Hobart Tech Park - ACB,” at 6197 Colorado Street. A state design release documents state plan-review activity; it is not a local building permit, authorization to occupy or proof that construction is complete.
Used to verify: Project number and title, 6197 Colorado Street location, Standard design-release type, July 21 release date, State-versus-local approval boundary
Access and copyright: Public state project-activity report; Northshore summarizes the listed metadata and does not host a complete underlying release.
Controlling-record relationship: This record controls the listed state design-release activity only. The actual DHS release controls its scope and conditions; City records control local building permits and occupancy approval.
Related records: Indiana DHS Project 462383 activity — Form COR filing
historicalIndiana MyCase docket index — three Hobart resident cases (July 28 snapshot)
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Judicial BranchClassification: Public court docket indexPublished / issued: Checked July 28, 2026; historical snapshot
The July 28 snapshot identified 45D11-2512-MI-000644, 45D04-2601-PL-000022 and 45D10-2606-RA-000007. At that time, the first and third matters were displayed as active and were consolidated by a July 28 order. Use the current August 31 docket update for later status and filings. MyCase cautions that official records must be obtained from the court maintaining the case.
Used to verify: Case status at July 28, Case numbers, Docket chronology, Post-March filings, July 28 consolidation
Access and copyright: Public court index; Northshore summarizes docket metadata. Official or certified court records must be obtained from the court maintaining the case.
Controlling-record relationship: MyCase controls the public docket chronology. Signed orders control judicial rulings, and the court clerk’s official record controls exact filing content.
pendingIndiana MyCase current docket update — Hobart cases checked August 31, 2026
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Judicial BranchClassification: Official public court docket summaryPublished / issued: Checked August 31, 2026
The current public MyCase summaries show 45D11-2512-MI-000644 as “Pending (active)” with a July 16, 2026 status date. New public docket activity includes defendants’ joint motions to dismiss and supporting memorandum docketed August 11, a plaintiffs’ response/reply docketed August 21, and an order and hearing entry docketed August 24 setting September 22, 2026 at 1:30 p.m. for a hearing on pending motions to dismiss. The separate 45D10-2606-RA-000007 summary is labeled “Decided” as of August 17, but the public summary reviewed did not identify a disposition or merits order; it remains listed as consolidated with 45D11. The 45D04-2601-PL-000022 summary still displays “Pending” as of January 20, 2026, with no new substantive update identified in the current public summary.
Used to verify: Current 45D11 pending-active label, August 11 motions to dismiss, August 21 plaintiffs’ response/reply, August 24 hearing order and entry, September 22, 2026 hearing date, 45D10 Decided status label without inferred disposition, 45D04 Pending status label, Current consolidation relationship
Access and copyright: Official public court index. Northshore summarizes docket metadata and does not host a complete court record; official or certified records remain with the court.
Controlling-record relationship: The public summary controls the status labels and listed docket chronology. Signed orders control judicial rulings, and the court clerk’s official record controls the exact content and legal effect of each filing.
Related records: Indiana MyCase docket index — three Hobart resident cases (July 28 snapshot); Order granting consolidation — Hobart zoning and site-plan judicial reviews; Filed petition — later Hobart data-center site-plan review
finalOrder granting consolidation — Hobart zoning and site-plan judicial reviews
Publisher / issuer: Lake Superior Court / Indiana MyCaseClassification: Official court docket recordPublished / issued: July 28, 2026
The public docket records an order granting consolidation of Cause No. 45D11-2512-MI-000644 with related Cause No. 45D10-2606-RA-000007. The cases will proceed together. The order is procedural and does not resolve the merits of the amended zoning/fill-permit claims or the later site-plan petition.
Used to verify: July 28 consolidation order, Cases consolidated, Procedural status, No merits decision
Access and copyright: Public court docket record; Northshore summarizes the docket action and does not host a complete court document. Official or certified records remain with the court.
Controlling-record relationship: The court’s consolidation order controls this procedural change. It does not supersede earlier merits or procedural orders and does not decide the unresolved claims.
Related records: Indiana MyCase docket index — three Hobart resident cases (July 28 snapshot); Order granting consolidated briefing deadlines; Filed petition — later Hobart data-center site-plan review
submittedFiled complaint — Soriano et al. v. City of Hobart Plan Commission et al.
Publisher / issuer: Lake Superior Court filing / resident plaintiffsClassification: Filed complaint copyPublished / issued: December 8, 2025
File-stamped complaint in Cause No. 45D11-2512-MI-000644 challenging rezoning, a right-of-way vacation and the first fill permit. A complaint states the plaintiffs’ allegations and requested relief; it is not a court finding. The linked copy is hosted on the plaintiffs’ public-information site.
Used to verify: Original zoning and fill-permit allegations, Filing date, Requested relief
submittedFiled complaint — Soriano et al. v. Hobart Common Council et al.
Publisher / issuer: Lake Superior Court filing / resident plaintiffsClassification: Filed complaint copyPublished / issued: January 20, 2026
File-stamped complaint in Cause No. 45D04-2601-PL-000022 challenging the ERA designation, two real-property abatements and the enterprise IT exemption. These are plaintiffs’ allegations, not adjudicated facts. The linked copy is hosted on the plaintiffs’ public-information site.
Used to verify: Tax-incentive allegations, Resolutions challenged, Requested relief
finalOrder on Petition for Preliminary Injunction — first fill permit
Publisher / issuer: Lake Superior Court, Civil Division 7Classification: Court order copyPublished / issued: March 26, 2026
The signed, file-stamped nine-page order found standing and denied judgment on the evidence, but granted motions to dismiss or bar the first-fill-permit challenge for failure to exhaust administrative remedies and timely file the board record. The court expressly did not reach the preliminary-injunction issue. The linked copy is hosted on the plaintiffs’ public-information site.
Used to verify: March 26 procedural ruling, Standing, First-fill-permit dismissal, Issues not decided
submittedMemorandum supporting requested preliminary injunction — first fill permit
Publisher / issuer: Lake Superior Court filing / resident plaintiffsClassification: Filed legal memorandumPublished / issued: February 4, 2026
This eight-page plaintiffs’ memorandum supports their request for a preliminary injunction concerning the first fill permit. It argues that the October 2025 PC 25-36 application and the Plan Commission’s later treatment of it were unlawful and asks the court to stop earthwork. It records the plaintiffs’ legal argument and requested relief, not court findings. The March 26 court order controls the procedural ruling and expressly did not decide the preliminary-injunction issue.
Used to verify: Plaintiffs’ requested preliminary injunction, Plaintiffs’ account of PC 25-36, Arguments concerning the first fill permit, Requested relief
Access and copyright: Northshore holds the supplied filing as a controlled source. The complete record is not exposed publicly and is reviewed through Research Pass access.
Controlling-record relationship: This memorandum controls only the plaintiffs’ arguments and requested relief. Court orders control adjudicated facts and rulings.
Related records: Filed complaint — Soriano et al. v. City of Hobart Plan Commission et al.; Hobart Data Center Campus site-plan review application — PC 25-36; Order on Petition for Preliminary Injunction — first fill permit
finalFinal order — ERA designation and real-property tax abatements
Publisher / issuer: Lake Superior Court, Civil Division 4Classification: Court order obtained from Indiana MyCasePublished / issued: February 18, 2026
The signed 11-page order denied the residents’ petition for judicial review and confirmed the Common Council’s ERA designation and real-property tax-abatement actions. It found that statutory procedures were followed, the Council’s decision was supported by substantial evidence and the plaintiffs did not meet the burden to set it aside. The order did not adjudicate Resolution 2026-04’s enterprise IT exemption because the court found no appeal process or authority to revisit it.
Used to verify: Final tax/ERA ruling, Petition denied, ERA designation confirmed, Real-property abatements confirmed, Resolution 2026-04 limitation
finalOrder denying reconsideration — first fill-permit dismissal
Publisher / issuer: Lake Superior Court, Civil Division 7Classification: Court order obtained from Indiana MyCasePublished / issued: April 13, 2026
The signed three-page order denied the plaintiffs’ motion to reconsider the March 26 ruling. The court found that the motion repeated earlier arguments and presented nothing new, leaving the first-fill-permit procedural dismissal in place.
Used to verify: Reconsideration denied, March 26 ruling left in place, Post-March court ruling
finalOrder granting consolidated briefing deadlines
Publisher / issuer: Lake Superior Court, Civil Division 7Classification: Procedural court order obtained from Indiana MyCasePublished / issued: July 6, 2026
The signed order granted a joint request to use consolidated briefing deadlines in the original zoning/fill-permit case. It is a scheduling ruling, not a decision consolidating the cases or deciding the merits.
Used to verify: July briefing schedule, Procedural status, No merits ruling
submittedFiled petition — later Hobart data-center site-plan review
Publisher / issuer: Lake Superior Court filing / resident plaintiffsClassification: Filed petition reviewed through Indiana MyCasePublished / issued: June 8, 2026
Cause No. 45D10-2606-RA-000007 challenges the Plan Commission’s May 7 site-plan actions associated with applications 26-12 and 26-14. The petition’s claims about notice, process, engineering, traffic, utilities, sound and environmental issues are allegations, not court findings. The court consolidated this matter with Cause No. 45D11-2512-MI-000644 on July 28; no merits order was identified.
Used to verify: Third related court case, May 7 site-plan allegations, Pending judicial review, July 28 consolidation
Related records: Order granting consolidation — Hobart zoning and site-plan judicial reviews
finalHobart Plan Commission agenda and official meeting video — May 7, 2026
Publisher / issuer: City of HobartClassification: Official meeting recordPublished / issued: May 7–8, 2026
The official agenda and meeting video document public hearings for proposed data-center site-plan applications 26-12 and 26-14. The later resident petition seeks judicial review of the Commission’s actions on those applications.
Used to verify: Applications 26-12 and 26-14, May 7 Plan Commission meeting, Official meeting video
pendingHobart Plan Commission agenda — August 6, 2026
Publisher / issuer: City of Hobart Plan CommissionClassification: Official government meeting agendaPublished / issued: Meeting scheduled August 6, 2026; accessed July 30, 2026
The official agenda lists Old Business item 26-18 for Langan Engineering & Environmental Services concerning approximately 555 acres south of 61st Avenue, east of Colorado Street and north of 69th Avenue. It labels the Hobart Tech Park request tabled and describes a proposed one-lot subdivision. Blank outcome fields mean the agenda does not establish that final-plat approval was granted, denied, deferred or voted upon.
Used to verify: August 6 Plan Commission meeting, Case 26-18, Hobart Tech Park proposed one-lot subdivision, Tabled agenda status, Public meeting and Zoom participation details, No recorded outcome in the agenda
Access and copyright: Official public City agenda. Northshore publishes meeting-participation details for free and routes document access through the protected Research Pass library.
Controlling-record relationship: The agenda controls what was scheduled before the meeting. It is not minutes or proof of action; the later signed minutes or official meeting video will control what the Commission considered and decided.
Related records: Hobart Plan Commission agenda and official meeting video — May 7, 2026
pendingHobart Plan Commission agenda — September 3, 2026
Publisher / issuer: City of Hobart Plan CommissionClassification: Official government meeting agendaPublished / issued: Meeting scheduled September 3, 2026; accessed August 31, 2026
The official agenda lists item 26-18 for Langan Engineering concerning approximately 555 acres south of 61st Avenue, east of Colorado Street and north of 69th Avenue. It labels the request “Tabled: Hobart Tech Park” and describes a proposed one-lot subdivision. The agenda does not establish that a final plat was approved, denied or otherwise decided.
Used to verify: September 3 Plan Commission meeting, Case 26-18, Hobart Tech Park tabled label, Proposed one-lot subdivision, Approximately 555-acre area, No final-plat outcome in the agenda
Access and copyright: Official public City agenda. Northshore publishes the agenda metadata and summary publicly and routes document access through the protected Research Pass library.
Controlling-record relationship: The agenda controls what was scheduled for the September 3 meeting. It is not minutes or proof of action; later signed minutes or an official meeting record will control what the Commission decided.
Related records: Hobart Plan Commission agenda — August 6, 2026
pendingHobart Redevelopment Commission agenda — August 17, 2026
Publisher / issuer: City of Hobart Redevelopment CommissionClassification: Official government meeting agendaPublished / issued: August 17, 2026; accessed August 31, 2026
The official agenda includes consideration and approval of Supplemental Agreement No. 2 with Butler, Fairman & Seufert, Inc. for engineering support, plan reviews, traffic studies and project coordination for data-site developments over an anticipated 48-month period. The agenda records an item for consideration; it is not proof that the agreement was approved or executed.
Used to verify: August 17 Redevelopment Commission meeting, Supplemental Agreement No. 2 agenda item, Engineering and plan-review support, Traffic studies and project coordination, Anticipated 48-month period, Agenda-versus-approval distinction
Access and copyright: Official public City agenda. Northshore summarizes the scheduled business and does not present an agenda item as an approved or executed agreement.
Controlling-record relationship: The agenda controls what the Commission considered. Signed minutes, the executed agreement and payment records would control approval, execution and financial effect.
Related records: Hobart Municipal Code Chapter 155 — reimbursement of professional fees and costs; City of Hobart Fee Schedule 2026
finalEnvironmental Impact Study & Litigation Hold For AWS Data Center in Hobart
Publisher / issuer: PanoramaNOW Entertainment NewsClassification: News publication reproducing resident-authored commentaryPublished / issued: August 21, 2026; reviewed August 25, 2026
PanoramaNOW published a citizen-prepared environmental study and records-preservation package led by Christine Pierce. The publisher says the material was presented to various entities on or about August 20, but the page does not identify every recipient or independently document delivery to each one. The document's environmental and legal assertions are resident claims, not agency findings or court rulings.
Used to verify: Publication of the resident-authored study, Contents of the records-preservation package, PanoramaNOW's report about presentation around August 20, Resident recommendations and allegations
Access and copyright: Publisher-hosted material. Northshore provides original summary and classification publicly; the curated publisher link is available through Research Pass. Northshore does not reproduce the full publication.
Controlling-record relationship: This source controls what the resident-prepared document says and what PanoramaNOW reported. It does not prove delivery to every named entity or create a court-ordered hold. Official court dockets and signed orders control litigation status and legal relief.
Related records: Indiana power outage raises concerns about data centers; Indiana MyCase docket index — three Hobart resident cases (July 28 snapshot)
finalIndiana power outage raises concerns about data centers
Publisher / issuer: Here & Now / WBURClassification: Independent news reportingPublished / issued: August 25, 2026
WBUR's Here & Now interviewed Hobart resident Angelita Soriano about regional power outages and concerns regarding the proposed data center. The segment identifies her as part of a lawsuit concerning the City Council approval process. It provides related resident-litigation context but does not report on or confirm the records-preservation request.
Used to verify: August 25 national public-radio coverage, Interview with a Hobart resident identified as part of a lawsuit, Related outage and resident-concern context, No independent confirmation of the preservation request
Access and copyright: Publisher-hosted news segment. Northshore provides original summary and classification publicly; the curated publisher link is available through Research Pass. Northshore does not reproduce the audio or article.
Controlling-record relationship: The segment controls what WBUR reported and whom it interviewed. It does not establish the status of a court case or confirm the preservation request; official court dockets and signed orders control litigation status and relief.
Related records: Environmental Impact Study & Litigation Hold For AWS Data Center in Hobart; Indiana MyCase docket index — three Hobart resident cases (July 28 snapshot)
historicalData Center Noise Study for Northern Virginia localities
Publisher / issuer: John W. Lyver IVClassification: Non-Hobart predictive reportPublished / issued: December 31, 2022
A predictive report about Prince William, Fauquier and King George Counties and Warrenton, Virginia. It is not a Hobart site study and does not establish sound levels at Hobart receivers.
Used to verify: Geographic scope of linked noise report, Methodology limitations, Non-Hobart context
finalTown of Merrillville data-center information page
Publisher / issuer: Town of MerrillvilleClassification: Official municipal project statementPublished / issued: July 2026
Merrillville’s official page describes the neighboring Hobart data-center campus as currently under construction. It corroborates active project work but does not identify every activity occurring on the site.
Used to verify: Current construction status, Active Amazon data center project work, Regional observation
historicalHobart mayor’s 2026 construction-milestone update
Publisher / issuer: City of Hobart mayorClassification: Public project updatePublished / issued: January 2026
The mayor stated that a $45 million city payment is tied to the first building going vertical and described the project as being built in 2026. This supports a planned 2026 milestone, not proof that vertical construction has begun.
Used to verify: Vertical-construction milestone, 2026 construction expectation, City payment trigger
approvedMISO Project 51141: New Hobart 345-kV Load Addition
Publisher / issuer: Midcontinent Independent System OperatorClassification: Transmission planning documentPublished / issued: February 2026
Planning record for a 1,500 MW Hobart load addition and related 345-kV transmission work, with a March 2027 expected in-service date.
Used to verify: Transmission upgrades, Grid planning, Expected schedule
draftIDEM public notice: Orla, LLC draft air permit
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Department of Environmental ManagementClassification: Draft permit public noticePublished / issued: June–August 2026
Lebanon-area public record for a separate temporary natural-gas generation proposal. It is a comparator, not evidence of a Hobart plan.
Used to verify: Lebanon comparison, Draft status, Public participation
final40 CFR 60.4211 — emergency engine operation
Publisher / issuer: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency / eCFRClassification: Federal regulationPublished / issued: Current federal code
Federal operating requirements for stationary compression-ignition engines, including the emergency and non-emergency operating categories.
Used to verify: Runtime rules, Maintenance and testing, Emergency operation
finalCity of Hobart official maps and GIS records
Publisher / issuer: City of HobartClassification: Official GISPublished / issued: Current public GIS
Public mapping source used for general location and zoning context. The site map is informational and is not a legal survey.
Used to verify: Location context, Zoning context, Distance bands
finalIDEM air-permit public participation process
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Department of Environmental ManagementClassification: Agency guidancePublished / issued: Current
Explains that written-comment periods are usually 30 days, how a draft notice supplies submission instructions, hearing requests and IDEM’s notice of decision.
Used to verify: Permit process, Usually 30-day comment period, Hearing requests, Final decision
finalIDEM air operating permit programs
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Department of Environmental ManagementClassification: Agency guidancePublished / issued: Current
Distinguishes Part 70/Title V permits from FESOP synthetic-minor permits and explains how enforceable potential-to-emit limits keep an eligible source below Title V major-source thresholds.
Used to verify: FESOP definition, Synthetic-minor context, Title V distinction
finalIDEM air-permit timeframes and review table
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Department of Environmental ManagementClassification: Agency guidancePublished / issued: Current
Lists public-notice and U.S. EPA proposal requirements by permit type. The New Source FESOP Minor PSD/Emission Offset row lists public notice and does not list proposal to U.S. EPA.
Used to verify: FESOP review path, Public notice, EPA proposal distinction
finalIDEM public notices — Northwest Indiana
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Department of Environmental ManagementClassification: Official public-notice indexPublished / issued: Current
Official notice page covering Lake County. Draft air-permit notices list the comment deadline, project contact and instructions for submitting comments or requesting a hearing.
Used to verify: Lake County notices, Draft-permit documents, Comment deadlines, Project contacts
finalIDEM air-permit contacts and Interested Parties Mailing List
Publisher / issuer: Indiana Department of Environmental ManagementClassification: Agency contact guidancePublished / issued: Current
Provides the official mailing-list contact for air-permit notices and general Office of Air Quality permit-assistance information. The future project notice will provide the actual comment-submission contact.
Used to verify: Interested Parties Mailing List, Air-permit notice alerts, Office of Air Quality contact